West Hartford Public Schools Logo

Equity and Diversity Council (EDC)

EDC logo

The West Hartford Public Schools boast a rich tapestry of diversity and culture. 

Vision for Equity and Anti-Racism

We, the members of West Hartford Public Schools, dedicate ourselves to the pursuit of equity. Equitable schools are those that value and honor ALL in our community as unique individuals capable of maximizing their true potential. We make a solemn promise to identify and dismantle all elements of systemic racism and historical inequities. We vow to clear paths, with a relentless duty to those in traditionally marginalized groups. We pledge to partner with ALL families in the service of the success of each child. 

The work of the district's Equity and Diversity Council (EDC) supports our commitment to advance equity, honor diversity and foster inclusiveness in all areas of our district's programs, practice and services.


Whiting Lane School Named National Blue Ribbon School for 2022

Please join me in congratulating Karen Kukish and all of the dedicated teachers, staff, students and families of Whiting Lane Elementary School, West Hartford. U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona has recognized Whiting Lane Elementary as a National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2022. 

This award validates the passion and dedication of the Whiting Lane community and all of West Hartford in creating an inclusive learning community where equity and positive relationships are embraced each day, and all students are motivated to thrive. Whiting Lane Elementary is one of only 297 schools nationwide and one of two Connecticut schools to receive this recognition based on exemplary progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“I applaud all the honorees for the 2022 National Blue Ribbon Schools Award for creating vibrant, welcoming, and affirming school communities where students can learn, grow, reach their potential, and achieve their dreams,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona. “As our country continues to recover from the pandemic, we know that our future will only be as strong as the education we provide to all of our children. Blue Ribbon Schools have gone above and beyond to keep students healthy and safe while meeting their academic, social, emotional, and mental health needs. These schools show what is possible to make an enduring, positive difference in students’ lives.”

A recognition ceremony will be held in Washington D.C. in early November. Whiting Lane's success reflects positively on everyone in the West Hartford Public Schools and our community and validates our focus on clearing paths for every child's success.

Andy Morrow
Superintendent of Schools

There are no events to display

Cultural Competence Continuum

Cultural Consciousness:
Understanding of one’s own
cultural identity, bias, prejudices and experiences of both privilege and marginalization 

Cultural Responsiveness:
Commitment to the continuous improvement of skills, knowledge and personal growth needed to establish meaningful connection with people from various cultural backgrounds

Cultural Advocacy:
Lifelong commitment to
action that supports
equity in each school

Cultural Competence Continuum
colorful canvas

Dr. Roszena Haskins

Executive Director

Dr. Scott Ratchford

Equity Advancement/Family Engagement, School Psychologist

BOE Educational Equity Policy - 1800

West Hartford Public Schools (WHPS) is committed to the continuous work to establish and sustain an equitable school community.  Learn more.

decoration/inspiration in the hallway
art class wall
art bulletin board
decoration/inspiration in the hallway
hallway decoration and inspiration