Regardless of room changes next year, all computers, projectors, printers and other technology should not be moved. Any technology moves deemed necessary will be completed over the summer by the IT Department & Plant Services in coordination with building administrators.
Are you a student who is graduating from WHPS?
Congratulations on graduating! Please note that after you graduate, all of your school accounts will be deleted. This includes any documents you saved on the G Drive (your network drive) and all of your Google data (Gmail, Google Drive, Google Presentation, etc.). The delete date for the 2015-2016 school year was Monday, August 15th, 2016. If you want to save your Google data files, you can use the Google Takeout app. If you want to save data from your G Drive, you can either:
- bring in a flash drive and save it there
- upload your G Drive documents to your Google Drive and use Google Takeout to save them
Google Takeout Instructions
It may take a long time for files to be copied, so make sure to do this well in advance of the delete date. You are also limited in the number of “takeouts” you are able to do in a 24-hour period.
6 Easy Steps:
Go to Google Takeout
Select all the apps you want to save
Choose “Zip File” format and select “Send Download Link via Email”
Click “Create Archive”
Make sure to download your data and save to a thumb drive or your home computer’s hard drive before August 15th or you will lose your data. There is no way to restore the documents once they have been deleted!
Are you a staff member leaving WHPS?
If you are a staff member who is leaving the district but still want your Google Drive/Docs & Resources? Use Google Takeout. On your last day, your Google Apps account will be deleted and you will no longer be able to access it. This includes email as well as any information in your Google Drive. Please be sure that you transfer ownership of any Google docs to another staff member if they will need to access them after you leave. We would also suggest you have an out of office message set at least a week ahead of time to notify users you will be leaving. Once your account is suspended no email will be received and no out of office message will be sent.
As always, make sure that all your important files are stored on your Google Drive or network drive (H-drive, Y-drive). Elementary K-2 and 3-5 folders will be deleted at the end of the year. Common Folder/Shared drives must have files inside of folders with meaningful names (i.e. folders named “Tom” will be deleted). If you have any important files on the computer desktop, within “My Documents” or any other location on your local PC, then they need to be uploaded to your Google Drive or copied to your network drive(s). Any files stored on your local computer may be deleted during summer maintenance!
Be sure to delete old and obsolete files from your network drives that you no longer need/use.
Teachers changing schools should notify the Helpdesk so shared drives will be connected to the correct school(s)
Google Classroom - Here is info on archiving a class: https://support.google.com/edu/classroom/answer/6149813?hl=en
Do you have any equipment signed out from the school library or any other Department? If so, be sure to return any equipment that you do not have permission to keep checked out all summer.
If your classroom is assigned a set of devices, be sure to secure them for the summer and let your school tech know their whereabouts in case of maintenance/updates.
If you are assigned a 1:1 laptop and are allowed to take it home all summer, be sure to check with your school tech in case of required updates/maintenance when you return.
Teacher websites: Make sure you update your website/blog for your new students and families. Let your school webmaster know if any changes are necessary to keep your info up-to-date.